CRM Learns To Cook

Just another WordPress.com site

Day 2: Salmon and Parmesan Risotto

with 5 comments

For my second meal, I decided to try salmon. I have never cooked fish. My parents never made fish when I was a kid. I’m not sure if it was because I was a picky eater and complained a few times before I could remember, or if they just didn’t like fish. Now, I freaking love seafood. Its delicious. Never cooked fish though.

First I had to buy the fish. That’s step 1: buy the food. I went back to Fresh Market and asked the guy at the counter how much a half pound would be. He took out some salmon, threw it on the scale and I stared at it like an idiot. I was just far enough away that I couldn’t really tell how much I was looking at. Probably wasn’t enough I thought. So I asked for three-quarters of a pound. He packaged it and handed it over. Now I needed a side.

After wandering around the grocery store aimlessly for longer than I’m going to admit in writing, I found the risotto. Risotto is yet another food I have never made. I guess at this point I stop pointing out when I’ve never cooked a certain food. That’s going to get old quick.

I picked out a box of the add water and stir risotto. (Let’s just consider this the walk-before-I-run part of my kitchen development.) I grabbed what looked like the cheesiest risotto available. My motto has always been when in doubt, go with the cheesiest product. It’s the same way I choose my favorite movies.

With the food selected, I just needed to figure out the best way to cook salmon on my stove. To research I pestered my brother via text for a good 3 hours and repeatedly Googled “cook salmon on oven.” I settled on Italian seasoning and some garlic pepper for seasoning – neither of which I had. That was another trip to the grocery store. Another thing I’m going to have to work on is my organization. So far any money I’ve saved from cooking dinner has been negated by multiple trips to the store for things like fish and salt and cooking instruments.

When cooking time came, I started sautéing the rice. At least I’m going to call it sautéing. Low heat and some butter? Right? Rex? I drank beer and dutifully observed the two burners as they heated my dishes. I stirred. I flipped. I seasoned.

Everything cooked properly and turned out to be really good. Using a tip from my brother, I created a cheap-o glaze using mayonnaise and horseradish mustard with a touch of honey. It was f***ing delicious. Of course, the smoked salmon was good enough on its own. The risotto was also delicious. Suddenly, I understood what Gordon Ramsey is always yelling about.

I guess through two days I’ve learned that I’m pretty good at applying direct heat to things. Eventually, I’ll start putting things together, mixing, chopping and whatnot. That time will come. For now, I’m happy to know that I can survive an entire (work) week without consuming any pizza. Never mind. That sounds kind of depressing and boring.

I’m without a picture because I was in too much of a hurry to eat. I’ll be working on the art for the site over the weekend. More pictures. More updates throughout the process on the Twitter feed that was created while I wasn’t looking. There are exciting new features in the works! Maybe. We’ll see what happens.

Until then, I’ll say “Mahi Mahi” which is Hawaiian for both “hello, fish” and “goodbye, fish.”

Written by Stephen Douglas

March 11, 2011 at 12:13 am

Posted in fish, rice

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. “and repeatedly Googled “cook salmon on oven.””

    Next time, google: “cook salmon on stove”

    “At least I’m going to call it sautéing. Low heat and some butter? Right?”

    Sautéing is on high, high heat.

    Not bad for a first go-around, as long as it tastes good, you’re starting out alright.

    James

    March 11, 2011 at 12:24 am

  2. I will readily admit I thought you were destined for your first failure when I saw Risotto in the headline. Real Risotto is better suited for your 30th week.

    I’m not a huge salmon fan, but when I do make it, I make a great Maple Porter Beer reduction for it. Sweet works really well with the fish.

    Rex Kramer

    March 11, 2011 at 12:25 am

  3. /takes notes

    Stephen

    March 11, 2011 at 12:39 am

    • Oh, and risotto should never be added with water, chicken stock is the way to go. More flavor.

      James

      March 11, 2011 at 12:50 am

  4. Looking forward to Day 3!

    Rex Kramer

    September 26, 2014 at 1:24 pm


Leave a Reply

